Are you 65 years or older or permanently disabled?
Do you own and live in your home?
The homestead reduction averages a tax reduction of $300 to $400 per year.
The Homestead Exemption Program is offered to all homeowners over the age of 65 or who are permanently and totally disabled. A renewal application is mailed annually so that the property owners can report any changes. If there is no change, the renewal does not need to be returned.
There is also an expanded Veterans’ Disability Homestead available to honorably-discharged veterans with 100% service-related disability or individual unemployability. To apply, a copy of the letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs documenting the disability rating and a copy of the veteran’s DD214 will need to be provided at the time of the application. This reduction is NOT income-tested and will save approximately $600 to $800 in tax dollars per year.
Property owners who will be turning 65 years of age by December 31 of any year may apply in that year. If the owner is under the age of 65 and considered 100% permanently or totally disabled is also eligible for the reduction.
Applicants will have to show proof of income that cannot exceed the maximum income level.
New applicants, must as of January 1st of the year for which they are applying:
- Be an owner of the property by:
- being listed on the deed OR
- being a purchaser on a recorded Land Contract OR
- having a Life Estate in the property (the right to live in the property for their natural life) OR
- being the settler of the trust, if the property is held in trust OR
- being the mortgagee on a recorded mortgage on the property.
- NOTE: If the property is in the name of a Corporation, LLC, Partnership, or Company, it is not qualified because it is not owned by an individual.
- Be living in the home as your primary residence.
- If qualifying under disability, have documentation certifying the date of disability.
To show proof of age, we require picture ID.
We will accept copies of the following:
- Driver’s License
- State of Ohio ID Card
- Passport (current or expired)
To show proof of disability, a Certificate of Disability (DTE 105E) (which needs to be included with the application) must be signed by a physician or your original award letter from SSI Disability.
To show proof of income either bring in your previous year’s Ohio income tax form or other documentation of that year’s income.
Application Maximum Income Level
2021 Applications use 2020 income & must be $34,200 or less
2020 Applications use 2019 income & must be $33,600 or less
2019 Applications use 2018 income & must be $32,800 or less
2018 Applications use 2017 income & must be $32,200 or less
2017 Late Applications use 2016 income & must be $31,800 or less
Changes To Homestead Reduction
Changes to the Homestead Reduction occurred in 2014. The homestead real estate tax reduction saves the applicant in Coshocton County an average of $300 to $400 per year and offers a significant savings to our taxpayers. Prior to the change, if one owned and lived in one’s home, and were either 65 years old or totally disabled you were eligible for the reduction. The new law that took effect with HB 59 added one more requirement for eligibility – maximum income requirements. Adjusted gross income for both the owner and the owner’s spouse for the year preceding the year in which application for a reduction in taxes is made will be used as means testing. The limit will be reviewed and adjusted each year by the State Tax Commissioner.
Anyone who has already qualified under the old requirements in 2013 will be grandfathered in and will not have to pass the income-level test to receive or continue to receive the reduction. Those who have already qualified and have already filed an application with the Auditor’s Office will continue to receive the reduction. Also, the grandfathered homestead reduction follows the applicant into new homes if they own and occupy them.
A taxpayer who owned and lived in their home as of January 1st of the previous year and turned 65 any time during that year or was determined to be totally and permanently disabled as of that date will also be able to file a late application to have the tax bills adjusted this year. This is a reduction that is reimbursed by the state and the county jeopardizes receiving proper reimbursement or a finding for recovery if applications are accepted outside of the statutory period.