Category: 75th Anniversary

75th Anniversary Video

Beacon Articles

To celebrate this landmark year, we are publishing a series of articles in the Coshocton County Beacon that review our history and the people who have made it all possible.  

75th Anniversary

January Article

February Article

March Article

April Article

May Article

June Article

July Article

August Article

September Article

November Article

Commissioner’s Proclamation

Current and past supervisors and staff attended the Commissioner’s Proclamation presentation.

The Coshocton County Commissioners honored the Coshocton Soil and Water Conservation District with a special proclamation to commemorate their 75th Anniversary at their regular meeting on Wednesday, June 24, 2017. District Supervisors Greg Waters, David Lapp, Adrian Garber, and Beth Mullen accepted the proclamation.

Past Supervisors John Powell, Fred Zimmerman, Vernon Mizer, Knox Porteus, Wendell Waters, and Gerald Finlay attended the ceremony along with SWCD and NRCS staff Ryan Medley, Zach Wallace, Samantha Priest, Gina Schworm, and Deb Bigelow, and former employee Mary Thomas. 

The Coshocton SWCD is a legally organized subdivision of State Government, assigned under law the task of protecting and improving our soil and water resources.  A 95% referendum vote of Coshocton County citizens created the Coshocton SWCD on May 25, 1942.  This was the beginning of the one-on-one technical assistance of the local SWCD program that continues to this day.